Felting, golf, puncture, food …..

This afternoon I had my second session with members of the Borris Active Retirement Group, we were examining all the different things that you can make with felt cords and balls.  Everyone made a layered cord using three different colours of merino and then we had fun slicing through the felt to make gorgeous beads perfect for necklaces, bracelets, earrings, keyrings or whatever else takes your fancy!

Alpaca and merino necklace

Here is an image of one of my earliest necklaces made using this method, the dark chocolate fibre is alpaca and the rest is merino.  Only one of the ladies decided to leave the cord uncut, she is planning on converting the flat felt she made last week into a funky little purse and the cord is going to become a strong handle.

On Saturday I arrived back in the golf club car park from supporting some mixed matches only to find that my front wheel had a puncture. This was really annoying as I was dressed in my ‘official’ clothes and had no old trousers or anything to throw on in order to change the tyre. I can’t say that any of the men (or women!) rushed in to help so thankfully one of my friends gave me a lift home after the meal and I was able to return yesterday with Alan and get the thing sorted. This is the first time that my pick up truck has had a puncture since I bought it about 3 years ago so hopefully I will get another few years before I have to go through the trauma again. I have never had any difficulty changing tyres on any other jeep or car that I have owned but for some reason the spare is amazingly difficult to get out from under the base of this truck, at least having done it once next time should be easier!

I love the sound of this asparagus and goats cheese tart over at Maya Made, guess what I’ll be buying tomorrow???

Leave a Reply

