Combing natural fibres and artificial fabrics to create unique and complex surface texture detail

Fabulous sparkly polyester fabrics!

Yesterday afternoon I was able to call into Threads of Green in Kilkenny and pick up some more kind of horrible but simultaneously fabulous artificial fabric!  At the recent Lyda Rump felting workshops here at Clasheen we learnt not to restrict ourselves when felting to working with only natural materials but instead try and combine unusual artificial fabrics with our usual natural raw materials in an experimental way and basically see what interesting combinations occured. I picked up some amazing sparkle encrusted fabric yesterday designed by the dreaded sisters Polly and Ester (polyester to you!) and am really looking forward to sampling with them as soon as I get a moment tomorrow or on Thursday afternoon.  It is very interesting to see how natural fibres combine with the artificial fabric and create a totally new dimension in the final felted surface texture.  I have already experimented with the green sparkly fabric as it is what I used recently on the front surface of my complex felt bag.  To see how transformed the fabric becomes when combined with merino and Icelandic wool check out this short visual clip which I have just uploaded to YouTube, my first podcasting test since the workshop I attended with ArtL!nks yesterday in Kilkenny!  The beautiful photos that I used in the piece were shot by Bernie McCoy, thanks again Bernie for doing such a great job.

2 thoughts on “Combing natural fibres and artificial fabrics to create unique and complex surface texture detail

  1. Hi Nicola, I don’t think we have met yet. I am member also of Feltmakers Ireland. I have been doing bits and pieces over the last few years and am addicted to learning more about various mixed media to use with felt. I even have a craft group running here in Bray where other crafty people meet once a month to try a new craft. I have created my own blog recently http://www.sharonwells.wordpress.com and find yours so addictive now. I’d love to add a link on my blog to yours if you are willing. You have so much energy and keep coming up with new ideas to move your own craft and the art of feltmaking forward. I really enjoy hearing your ideas and enthusiasm and hope to meet you at some Feltmakers event in the near future. Also it’s really wonderful to see how you plan to do something and then the next day you have it done. Your work is lovely and very diverse. Put my name down for anything you are planning although all going well I should have my third child by next week so am having a short break from crafting. A very short break!

    Keep it going,
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

