Welcome to Clasheen Uncut and weaving a cropped top!

Welcome to Clasheen Uncut.  This new blog will run hand in hand with Clasheen, my online diary documenting life as a rural felter in Ireland! 

Here is the space where I will share all sorts of weekly trials and tribulations with you, felting, weaving, cookery, woodland managment, golf, travel and Irish country life in general.  Clasheen will remain as always dedicated to my biggest textile love which is felting, Clasheen Uncut will give you a glimpse of my emerging textile or art related endeavors!

I am not going to give you any speil about myself to start with here, all that may be found over at Clasheen.   Suffice to say that since 28th December 2009 (due to unusually cold weather conditions here in Ireland) I have been living without central heating and water for almost all the time and my electricity and internet connection has been dreadfully patchy!  As a result I have had to be inventive with my textile adventures. 

Felting requires water and believe me when you are gathering and melting snow to make a cup of tea embellishing and altering previously felted work combined with other textile disciplines come more to the forefront!  My enforced absence from felting has had an up side, it has given me the time to try and get to grips with my Ashford Knitters Loom. 

First attempt to warp the whole width

My first project was a dark purple and yellow scarf (photos on Flickr) and then I decided to try and warp the whole width of the loom, weaving is quick while I am finding that for me warping is time consuming.  Warping the whole width gave me some freedom to practice my weaving and feel like I was actually creating a piece of ‘cloth’ as opposed to just a scarf.  I adore scarves and am always creating them in felt but for my weaving I would like to create clothes and fabric to incorporate into my felting hence the wider warping width.   Earlier in the year I felted a cropped top which was a prototype for an exhibition I wanted to submit for.  Unfortunately I never got it together enough to actually expand on this shape but for my woven cropped top I had a couple of ideas in mind to try and put into practice.  Those of you who have been following Clasheen over the last year and a half know how much I try and avoid sewing (and in fact any of the small finishing tasks that go to complete a project!) so I was thrilled to discovered how easy it is to crochet seams together with hand woven fabric, a whole new world has opened up to me!  

Ella uncut

I named the cloth ‘Ella’ in memory of my grandmother as it is woven in some of her favourite colours, I can just see her throwing the fabric jauntily around her shoulders to ward off the cold. 

Seams crocheted and finishing the edges

Here is an image of the top as I was seaming and finishing the edges.  My next post will reveal the finished top but for now you can view some more images of the process to date over on Flickr!

4 thoughts on “Welcome to Clasheen Uncut and weaving a cropped top!

  1. Yay! More Clasheen to love!!
    I laugh every time you talk about how you try to avoid anything to do with sewing. I feel that way about crochet or knitting!
    (Too bad they can’t put us in a jar and ‘shake’ us!)
    (We’d make great neighbors, though…you could do those bits of my projects and I could do yours!!) Grin.

  2. I’ll definitely be a follower of your new blog, what a wonderful idea to *expand* from felt to other life interests! But….do you ever SLEEP??? My goodness, you are busy.

    Thanks for sharing other aspects of your life in Ireland, one of my most loved countries on this whole big earth…

  3. Good morning Nicola,

    In response to Sweetpea’s note above, I can wholeheartedly attest to the fact that Nicola has found some way to work, create, play…And never requires any sleep…It’s an amazing thing! The only time she tires, is when she has sewing or detail work to complete:-)

    Seriously, I’m so happy to have more “Nicola” to go with my morning coffee…Makes the day so much nicer.

    Hugs,
    Dawn

Leave a Reply

